Early morning chocolate fix.

3 Apr

One of my favorite things about being home some weekends…

I can finally have oatmeal! 🙂

Chocolate oatmeal. 😉 Of course, I could have it at the dorm but I can’t seem to get the microwave method right.. I follow the directions on the can but everytime it comes out still mostly liquid. I put the exact amount of liquid for the serving acording to directions. I’ve even tried less and smashing a banana into it to try to make it thicker. Anyone want to tell me the secret behind microwave cooking rolled oats???

Todays gonna be a pretty lazy day filled with studying, paper writing, and packing back up…Hopefully I’ll get the chance to go visit the park for some trails before heading back to the dorms.

Hope you are having a great weekend! My week hasn’t been all that exciting or eventful, hence the lack of posting. But this week should be picking up. 🙂

8 Responses to “Early morning chocolate fix.”

  1. megan @ the oatmeal diaries April 3, 2011 at 5:30 PM #

    Maybe you need to micro it for longer?! I usually don’t use as much water as they call for because I like my oats thicker! I sometimes do like 1/2 cup oats + 2/3 cup water and cook for 2ish minutes. Hope it works!

    • seekingrecoveryandbliss April 3, 2011 at 5:53 PM #

      I think I’ve even tried 3 minutes before. I’ll have to give it another try soon. Thankyou. 🙂

  2. Maris (In Good Taste) April 3, 2011 at 7:22 PM #

    My secret would be do what I do-use the instant packets!

    • seekingrecoveryandbliss April 3, 2011 at 7:27 PM #

      Its not the same! Haha. I used to only eat instant oatmeal, but now I don’t really like them much after getting used to rolled oats. The instant doesn’t keep me full very long. 🙂

  3. Faith April 4, 2011 at 8:15 AM #

    I feel so strange when I don’t have oatmeal in my house either – it’s such a staple that I can’t run out! Luckily I bought three tins of steel cut last time they were on sale, so I dont think I’ll be out any time soon!

    • seekingrecoveryandbliss April 4, 2011 at 1:36 PM #

      I’ve been meaning to try steel cut. As soon as I run out of rolled oats! Which could take a while since I tend to buy large quantities of oats at once. 🙂

  4. Peggy May 10, 2011 at 1:13 AM #

    For the oatmeal, try just letting it sit for a few minutes after you pull it out of the microwave. It will soak up some extra water, and it retains heat really well. Of course, you can also try thickening it up with protein powder too, but the patience method should do the trick 🙂

Leave a Reply

