Classes cancelled thanks to tornados. Not cool.

4 Apr

I’ve always been terrified of storms but ever since February, when my boyfriend and I got stuck in a gas station while a tornado tried to beat it up in passing, I’ve been even more nervous when under watches and warnings. And I’m the kind of person that doesn’t pay much attention to weather forcast except to see what the temperature will be before running off to class. So as you can probably guess, I had a little misfortune in being out at the wrong time today. I dragged my butt to the gym this afternoon to attend the monday night strength training class. Normally I go about an hour early so I can get some cardio in. Today I wasn’t feeling so great (I blame the hot cheetoes I got into while researching my speech topic) and decided I would just take it easy and do 15 minutes on the elliptical and walk for about 20 to 30 minutes with some inclines. As I was watching the news, the tornado siren started going off. (I swear….my walk to the gym was perfectly sunny!) So they had us all go to the hallway of the wellness complex. You would think being the only female surrounded by 50 or more big guys would be a good perk in this type of situation. Instead…I’m not only worried about the tornado but also about being trampled by guys! When the lights went out, they were running up and down the halls…what are we, 8? It was pretty sad to see these big, muscular men acting like children.

And after the tornados passed, the gym shut everything down. So no strength training class. I’m kind of upset with myself for taking it easy before thinking I would still be getting a workout from the class. Ah well..

My afternoon before was pretty lazy. Just tried to take care of a couple details in my transfer for the fall semester. I tried out a bagel-thin for the first time. It was so thin, I was sure I wouldn’t like it. But this thing was oh-so-good. Maybe it was because of the peanut butter and banana…yeah, most likely.Β πŸ˜€

Tomorrow my boyfriend and I finally have another date night. Because of his hours now, we can’t go out on weekends and I’m always so afraid to stay out weekdays because of classes and studying. Its just a movie and chik-fil-a but I’m pretty darn excited. πŸ™‚

We’ve been together a wonderful 2 years and I still can’t believe he has put up with all my craziness for so long. πŸ™‚

Hope you all had a good day. Mondays are always the worst. πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

