Back with some goals for the month.

6 May

I’m back! Finals are over!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Well….all but one. I still have to come back Tuesday for my statistics exam.

I’ve realized that I have so many things I need to work on about myself so I decided to set a list of goals for the month of may through mid-june. I figured maybe it’ll push me to be more accountable to work on them if I tell others.

Goals for May/June:

Focus on getting in better shape.
Lately I’ve done horrible in that area. Sure, I do cardio everyday but its normally the elliptical. Everyonce in a while I run a mile and then jump on the elliptical. While I’m at a healthy weight according to bmi, I don’t see it or feel it. I haven’t touched the weights in almost a month. I’ve felt so rushed between classes and work, I would always feel I have to choose one or the other…cardio or weights. It was always cardio. I also would like to be able to wear my old jeans. And I don’t think I’ll be showing up anywhere in a swimsuit anytme soon.

Stop focusing so much on calories.
I’m horrible about this. At any given moment you could ask me how many I’ve consumed and I can tell you. I’ll even try not to log, but I still find myself adding everything up while I make anything. (You’d thing this would control my binges…yet it doesn’t. Just makes it all the worse because I know how much it all was in the end.)

Strength Training!
This goes along with the first one but I really want to start focusing on it more. I recently bought the book “Lift like a man, look like a goddess.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m pretty excited to read some of it. I don’t do so well going to the gym with no set plan of attack and I’m also no good at coming up with my own so I’m hoping for some ideas and plans for my workouts.

Attitude.
I think this might be the biggest thing I need to work on. The way I view my body is horrible. Most mornings before leaving I actually cry just looking in the mirror. All I ever see is the weight I put on and how horrible it is. Even though i’m at a healthy weight, I can’t see anything positive. I know a 19-20 bmi is on the low side, but it seems everything I gained went to extra fat on my thighs and stomach. I need to start loving my body somehow. And it really affects how I am with my boyfriend. The poor guy puts up with all of my irritable moods and bouts of crying. He deserves so much more but loves me and never gets upset with me.

Run a 5K in June
This may not seem like a big deal to most people but for me it is. I barely get through a mile these days and have never gotten past 2 miles. I really want to work on that. Honestly I absolutely hate running but I’m hoping it’ll change if I start shaping up and getting better at it.

Tomorrow I’ll be working on packing everything up and moving home. I’ll finally have a blender, toaster, and oven! ๐Ÿ˜€ So excited. I miss my oats. I’ll also have more free time (which isn’t such a great thing in my eyes).

Did you make any goals for the month to work on? I never complete any of mine, but then I also never write them down or publish them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

One Response to “Back with some goals for the month.”

  1. megan @ the oatmeal diaries May 8, 2011 at 3:59 AM #

    Great goals!! As far as calories- maybe try stopping counting just one meal a day and go from there? Good luck! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

